Tuesday Big Bit & Progress Report

I was going to write a post yesterday on how I seem to have plateaued a bit, about how Life Happened in the past two weeks, and how I Fell Off the Wagon (exercize-wise) and Am Crawling Back On.

Then this happened.

I went to the gym to do my workout and I weighed myself on the electronic scale.  It indicates I weigh 175.0 pounds.  I am not encouraged by this as I have been bouncing around from 174.6 to 176.6 in the past two weeks.

Exercise works

Graph showing 3 days of missing the gym in week 6 followed by graph showing that when I go to the gym consistently (Tue.-Sun. in Week 7), the weight heads in the downward direction.

I go ride the bike, because that’s what I do.  I used to grade student papers on the bike, but I don’t have student assignments anymore.  I bring my iPad and play my games.  I actually keep my workout stats on a simple notebook page on the iPad now, but I digress.  Just before my 20 minutes is coming up, the old guy I see there quite often whom I talk to sometimes starts talking to me at the end of his bike time, and as we chat away it adds another 3 minutes and 20 calories burned to my workout total.

At this point, even though it’s certainly not urgent, I feel I would be a little more comfortable for the rest of my workout if I go to the bathroom first.  So I do.  And I’m actually a little surprised at how much came out.  So I thought, “Hmmm, I’ll go weigh myself again”.

So I did.

Are you sitting down?

I then weighed 173.8 pounds

Yep, over a pound of pee, and I’m pretty sure the scale hadn’t been re-calibrated in the 25 minutes I was away from it.

This makes me happy, because this brings the total amount of weight lost to …

7 pounds and … let’s see, convert decimal to ounces, set up equivalent fractions, cross multiply numerator and denominator and divide by the other denominator to solve for X:

4  =    X

_        _

10      16

7 pounds and 6.4 ounces in 7 weeks!

Now, that’s a good amount, but it is a little behind if I really want to lose 25 pounds in twenty weeks.  But it would be spot-on if I wanted to lose 25 pounds in twenty-five weeks.

I’m not so sure I want to endorse a “When failure is not an option, just move the goalpost” philosophy – not yet anyway – but I have to say that if on November 8th I weigh 161.2 pounds, I will not feel I have failed.  I will be majorly jazzed.

Leave a Reply

